James Keaton MBE

New Award for Former President

Professor James Keaton MBE, who is standing down as Pro-Chancellor of the University of Liverpool at the end of 2014 was the recipient of a 3rd honorary degree at the University’s December degree ceremonies.  He will continue his association with the University as Pro-Chancellor Emeritus and chair several subsidiary boards.

Modern processing of Corduroy

As the second Michael Crabtree Memorial lecture, the North of England Region arranged this lecture on 19th November at the Old Golf Course Hotel in Outlane, near Huddersfield. Graham Jowett spoke to the audience containing students and members from both industry and Universities. Graham has significant first-hand experience of working in the corduroy sector both […]

resizedf Orla McCarthy

Winner of the 2014 International Design Competition Announced

We are delighted to announce that the winner of the SDC International Design Competition 2014 is Orla McCarthy a textile and surface design student from the National College of Art & Design (NCAD) Dublin. Orla, representing Ireland scooped first place at the Grand Final of the competition on 20th November at a prestigious event held […]


SDC launches new student section at the University of Leeds

On the 5th November a new SDC student section was launched at the University of Leeds. At the inaugural event Trevor Lambourne (Commercial Manager for the Digital Print Centre of Industrial Collaboration at the university) welcomed everyone, and highlighted that this new student section was in fact re-establishing something that used to be in place […]

Richard Straughan

SDC Midlands Region – Wonderful World of Colour

SDC President Richard Straughan of STP Ltd recently presented an excellent, well-attended first lecture of the new season for the SDC Midlands Region joint event with the Nottingham Society of Technical Dyers (NSTD), entitled ‘Wonderful World of Colour’. Richard started his career in textiles with the Coats Patons Group at their factory Jeremiah Amblers Ltd […]

New Corporate Members

We are delighted to announce that the Royal School of Needlework is the latest college to sign-up to membership of SDC. The Royal School of Needlework (RSN) was established to keep the art and techniques of hand embroidery alive and that remains their principal mission, expressed through teaching and by undertaking commissions in their Embroidery […]


Sustainable Innovations in Coloration

SDC EC’s well-respected national conference took place earlier this at the Textile Committee Auditorium in Mumbai, with an excellent line up of speakers and presentations.  Read the latest SDC blog for Dr K S Murthy’s personal review of the event.  And why not subscribe (simply enter your email address at the foot of the home […]

Winner Shivangi Lahoty cut & resized

India Finalist Announced


The Hilton International Hotel, Mumbai played host to the India heat of the International Design competition on 24th August 2014. Three well- known design experts Mr. Anup Kumar, Mr Rajesh Rokade and Ms. Nisha Guleccha formed the judging panel to consider the 45 entries from colleges/institutes across India and declare  Ms Shivangi Lahoty, a student […]

Hong Kong IDC entries 2014

Hong Kong Winner Announced

Hong Kong

A student from The Technological and Higher Education Institute of Hong Kong has been announced as the winner of the Hong Kong heat of the 2014 SDC International Design Competition. Ms Zheng Bi Rong (Jessica) is heading to China in November to compete at the Grand Final after impressing the judges with her designs. Jessica […]

winner cropped

Success for Huizhou University student

Over Fifty students from universities across China entered the Chinese regional heat of the SDC International Design Competition earlier this month which was kindly hosted by Huizhou University. Many congratulations to Lily Zhang, a 3rd Year student of Fashion Design from Huizhou University who was selected as the winner. Lily took first place for her […]

Site Directory